Social Networking and what it means to me, right now

So here it is, the very first entry in my very first blog. At last I have found a reason to start one and at the same time prove that you can teach an old dog new tricks. Whilst this blog is the vehicle for my online journal (OLJ) for one of the two final subjects in my Master of Applied Science in Library & Information Management (yep, it’s a mouthful, and hence the title of this blog), who knows, I might just get carried away and continue this on, and on, and on…

But enough of the chitchat and on with the job at hand for my first assignment for INF506 Social Networking for Information Professionals:

(a) How do I define social networking?

Social networking (in the context of online technologies) is sharing information 21st century style, via a computer or mobile phone, with a variety of multi-media, and using a social networking site, such as facebook, flickr, or twitter. Networks of any size can be created and used, for example, to share holiday photos and videos with close friends and family; let anyone who is interested know about useful online resources; network with other professionals; or tell the world about something that has just happened, that very second. In today’s information and knowledge-based economies social networking would appear to be one of the more favoured methods for both individuals and organizations to quickly communicate information, if judged by the millions  currently using various social networking sites (facebook statistics).

(b) Here are the social networking technologies and sites I already use (for personal, work and study purposes):

delicious facebook LinkedIn twitter but I have no doubt this list will grow quite substantially as I progress through the course.

(c) What do I expect to learn from completing INF506?

I expect to become far better acquainted with a number of different types of social networking sites; how they operate; how effective they are; and the various social, cultural, ethical and technical issues associated with them; and to learn not only how they can be of better use to me in my personal life, but more importantly, how they can best be used in a library or information management environment to help with communication and to satisfy user needs.

About Sue

Sue Page is in the process of completing a Masters in Library & Information Management from Charles Sturt University in Australia.
This entry was posted in social networking definition, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

